Home Classifieds Work For Us Rack Locations Order Photos Contact Us Advertising Info Featured Advertisers

Click here to read
the latest issue

Browse Sections:

Forever Young
Rants & Raves
Crime Report
Calendar of Events
Dining Guide
Special Section Publications
Business & Finance
Business Columns
Star Scopes
Family Issues
Columnist Archives
Crossword Puzzle
Jail Court Live Web Cams

Weather Cams:

Now browsing: Hometown News > Entertainment > Indian River County

Symphony to end summer series with fanfare
Rating: 2.7 / 5 (44 votes)  
Posted: 2012 Aug 10 - 00:50

Music of the Olympics to take center stage

By Jessica Tuggle


VERO BEACH - Majestic and moving melodies will be the main event at the final Space Coast Symphony Orchestra concert of the summer.

"Call of the Champions: Music of the Olympics" will be presented by the 60-piece orchestra on Aug. 11 at 7 p.m. at Trinity Episcopal Church in Vero Beach.

In addition to rousing and inspiring musical masterpieces, the program will include archival and news footage, original film and photo choreography.

Tickets are $20 in advance, $25 at the door. Students 18 and younger are free.

The multi-media event is something that has been in the works for several months and artistic director Aaron Collins is eager to show the public the fruit of the orchestra's hard work.

"Olympic competition is about everything we aspire to be, the ultimate human drama. And the music of the Olympics brings forth the full range of human emotion," Mr. Collins said in a press release.

The film clips shown while the orchestra performs will be of stand-out moments in Olympic history, Mr. Collins said in an interview.

Some of the moments include a tribute to the Israeli team members who were killed at the 1972 Olympic games, Kerri Strug's extreme effort in gymnastics competition and Muhammad Ali's gold medal moment.

"It's going to be excellent, I'm very excited," Mr. Collins said.

Music will include: "The Star Spangled Banner," "The Swan" from Carnival of the Animals by French composer Camille Saint-Saens, "You'll Never Walk Alone," by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II and of course, the iconic "Bugler's Dream and Olympic Fanfare Medley" by John Williams.

The concert will also debut a piece written specifically for this concert, "Spirit of the Games," by John Ryther, Mr. Collins said.

"Each piece will tell a story of a great Olympic moment. It's going to be super cool. I think it will be one of the most exciting concerts we've had," he said.

For tickets or more information on the final summer concert by the Space Coast Symphony Orchestra or to learn about the upcoming season, call toll-free (855) 252-7276 or visit www.spacecoastsymphony.org.

Comments powered by Disqus
Can't see the comments?
Read more Entertainment stories from the Indian River County community newspaper...

Make this site your Homepage e-mail us

Legal Notices

Join our Mailing List:

Crossword Puzzle:

Archives Calendar:

« Sep, 2014 »
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30

Search Stories: