Home Classifieds Work For Us Rack Locations Order Photos Contact Us Advertising Info Featured Advertisers

Click here to read
the latest issue

Browse Sections:

Forever Young
Rants & Raves
Crime Report
Calendar of Events
Dining Guide
Special Section Publications
Business & Finance
Business Columns
Star Scopes
Family Issues
Columnist Archives
Crossword Puzzle
Jail Court Live Web Cams

Weather Cams:

Now browsing: Hometown News > Sports > Volusia County

Racing roundup: Triumph wins Daytona 200 for first time since '67.
Rating: (0 votes)
Posted: 2014 Mar 21 - 06:13

For Hometown News

Triumph rider Danny Eslick dominated the 73rd Daytona 200 AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike race at Daytona International Speedway, winning from the pole and leading 44 of the 57 laps.

Riding the No. 69 Triumph Daytona 675, the became the first rider to win the Daytona 200 aboard a Triumph since the late Gary Nixon in 1967.

The Broken Arrow, Okla., rider won by a margin of 10.975 seconds.

"It's awesome," Mr. Eslick said. "I've gotten the pole before. My very first 200 I got fourth. There's been a lot of hard work and a lot of years have passed by to get this victory. It means a lot."

In other Bike Week races:

The AMA Pro SuperBike Race 2 came down to a four-bike shootout between Graves Yamaha riders Cameron Beaubier and Josh Hayes, and Yoshimura Suzuki's Roger Hayden and Martin Cardenas.

With six laps remaining, Hayes ran off the course in Turn 1 due to mechanical issues on his No. 4 Yamaha.

  On the final lap, Mr. Beaubier drafted past Mr. Hayden coming out of the chicane to win by .090 seconds.

The opening round of the AMA Pro SuperBike race came down to a three-bike battle with Graves Yamaha riders Josh Hayes and Cameron Beaubier and Yoshimura Suzuki's Roger Hayden.

On Lap 14, Mr. Beaubier, who won last year's Daytona 200, entered Turn 1 aboard his No. 2 Yamaha too hot and ran wide leaving Mr. Hayes and Mr. Hayden to settle the victory.

Corey Alexander and Wyatt Farris led a 1-2 Celtic/HVMC Racing finish in the 10-lap SuperSport race.

Kenny Coolbeth Jr., riding the No. 2 Honda, slipped past Jake Johnson's No. 5 Honda on Lap 5 and drove away from the 18-rider field to win the 25-lap AMA Pro Grand National Expert Singles Main Event at the Daytona Flat Track.

Briar Bauman, riding the No. 14 Honda, led all 25 laps to capture the AMA Pro Grand National Expert Singles Main Event on Thursday night at the Daytona Flat Track.

In the 18-rider Pro Singles Main event, Ryan Wells of Albion, NY, riding the No. 94 KTM, dominated the event leading all 16 laps on his way to a 3.009-second win.

In the other top race at DIS, Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Ryan Villopoto led all 20 laps of the 450 main event to capture his fourth career Daytona Supercross By Honda victory.

Mr. Villopoto, a native of Seattle, Wash., never faced a serious challenge for the lead on his way to a 12.632-second victory. Rounding out the podium were KTM riders Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey.

Comments powered by Disqus
Can't see the comments?
Read more Sports stories from the Volusia County community newspaper...

Make this site your Homepage e-mail us

Legal Notices

Join our Mailing List:

Crossword Puzzle:

Archives Calendar:

« Sep, 2014 »
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30

Search Stories: