Home Classifieds Work For Us Rack Locations Order Photos Contact Us Advertising Info Featured Advertisers

Click here to read
the latest issue

Browse Sections:

Forever Young
Rants & Raves
Crime Report
Calendar of Events
Dining Guide
Special Section Publications
Business & Finance
Business Columns
Star Scopes
Family Issues
Columnist Archives
Crossword Puzzle
Jail Court Live Web Cams

Weather Cams:

Now browsing: Hometown News > News > Indian River County

Philanthropy Day award recipients announced
Rating: 2.44 / 5 (16 votes)  
Posted: 2013 Nov 15 - 06:42

For Hometown News

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY -- The Association of Fundraising Professionals Indian River Chapter announced the recipients of this year's National Philanthropy Day awards.

An award presentation will take place Tuesday, November 19th at Riverside Theatre, 3250 Riverside Park Drive, at 5:30 p.m., followed by light hors d'oeuvres and cocktails.

The presentation is the culmination of many months of the application and selection process, which included a kick-off workshop for the nonprofits in June, and mentor-mentee relationships between AFPIR members and the nominating organizations to help ensure the submission of strong applications which showcase the varied philanthropic efforts of the nominees. Judging was conducted by the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Southwest Florida Chapter.

This year's award recipients are: Outstanding Individual Philanthropist - Paul Becker, nominated by Harvest Food & Outreach Center; Outstanding Corporate Philanthropist - Treasure & Space Coast Radio, nominated by Harvest Food & Outreach Center; Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser - Kathie Pierce, nominated by Visiting Nurse Association & Hospice Foundation; Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy - Karly Krasnow and Jeffrey Krasnow, nominated by Military Moms Prayer Group; and Unsung Hero - James J. Kerns, nominated by Indian River Habitat for Humanity.

Additional individual honorees being recognized for their contributions include:

Scott Alexander; Dr. Robert W. and Nancy Bedingfield; Robert "Robbie" Crum; Michele Klager and Pamela Grant; Walter and Lalita Janke/The Walter & Lalita Charitable Foundation; Cathy and Willie LaCroix; Brenda Lloyd; Brad and Mary Jo Lorimier; Don and Sandy Mann; Susan Mehiel; Virginia "Ginny" Powers; Trudie Rainone; Archie Rea; Clarence B. "Jack" Rogers; Adrian and Kathy Smith; Fritz Spitzmiller; and Tommy and Simonetta Steyer.

Additional corporate nominees being recognized include: Kidz Closet of Vero Beach/Kidz Closet Charities; and Seacoast National Bank.

Event Sponsors for the evening are Leigh Jewelers, Marine Bank & Trust Co., Publix Supermarket Charities, Inc. and Wells Fargo. Co-chairs are Julia Keenan and Katie Kowanic.

Tickets to the celebration are $35 per person and reservations are required in advance. Monies raised from the event are reinvested locally in the AFPIR, supporting the profession of fundraising through chapter membership scholarships for new and current members to attend professional development workshops.

For more information, visit afpindianriver.afpnet.org or call (772) 633-4905.

Comments powered by Disqus
Can't see the comments?
Read more News stories from the Indian River County community newspaper...

Make this site your Homepage e-mail us

Legal Notices

Join our Mailing List:

Crossword Puzzle:

Archives Calendar:

« Oct, 2014 »
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31

Search Stories: