Home Classifieds Work For Us Rack Locations Order Photos Contact Us Advertising Info Featured Advertisers

Click here to read
the latest issue

Browse Sections:

Forever Young
Rants & Raves
Crime Report
Calendar of Events
Dining Guide
Special Section Publications
Business & Finance
Business Columns
Star Scopes
Family Issues
Columnist Archives
Crossword Puzzle
Jail Court Live Web Cams

Weather Cams:

Now browsing: Hometown News > Community > Martin County

Swimming, diving team receives award
Rating: 1.91 / 5 (11 votes)  
Posted: 2013 Feb 01 - 06:49

For Hometown News


Members of the Indian River State College men's swimming and diving team were named academic all-stars for achieving the highest grade-point average for any athletic team at the college during the fall 2012 semester with an average 3.05 GPA.

"The 'academic all-stars' designation recognizes the importance of academic achievement for athletes, and I'm proud to see our men's swimming and diving team receive this academic honor," said Scott Kimmelman, IRSC athletic director.

Team members received certificates of achievement and the IRSC "Skull" award, which is presented each year to the academic all-star team at the January board of trustees meeting. The team is coached by Ryan Mallam, head coach swimming and diving; David Suba, head diving coach and Adam Epstein, assistant coach swimming and diving.

The names and hometowns of the IRSC men's swimming and diving team members are: Heinrich Alberts, Pietersburg, South Africa; Richard Andrews, West Palm Beach; Edwin Angjeli, South Boston, Mass.; Caio Azevedo, Somerville, Mass.; Bryan Clarke, Indialantic; Erie Craven, Winston-Salem, N.C.; David Dawson, Neptune Beach; Zach Duval, Navarre; Luis Flores, Gurabo, Puerto Rico; Chad Harrington, Boca Raton; Frank Horpel, Castro Valley, Calif.; Evan Jacob, Jacksonville; Samuel Mitchum, Ocala; Josh Oathout, Altamonte Springs; Justin Ortiz, Jupiter; Terry Peoples, Elkhart, Ind.; Nicholas Piumelli, Winter Park; Marc Rojas, Miramar; Alec Scott, Aurora, Colo.; Kameron Sipowski, Jupiter; Bradley Tandy, Ladysmith, South Africa; Spencer Williams, St. Petersburg; Byron Wolkers, Pakuranga, New Zealand; David Zarb, Athens, Ga. and Timothy Zoltowski, Rio Rancho, N.M.

Comments powered by Disqus
Can't see the comments?
Read more Community stories from the Martin County community newspaper...

Make this site your Homepage e-mail us

Legal Notices

Join our Mailing List:

Crossword Puzzle:

Archives Calendar:

« Oct, 2014 »
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31

Search Stories: