Home Classifieds Work For Us Rack Locations Order Photos Contact Us Advertising Info Featured Advertisers

Click here to read
the latest issue

Browse Sections:

Forever Young
Rants & Raves
Crime Report
Calendar of Events
Dining Guide
Special Section Publications
Business & Finance
Business Columns
Star Scopes
Family Issues
Columnist Archives
Crossword Puzzle
Jail Court Live Web Cams

Weather Cams:

Now browsing: Hometown News > Sports > Volusia County

Ganassi Racing wins Rolex 24 at Daytona
Rating: 2.31 / 5 (13 votes)  
Posted: 2013 Feb 01 - 06:16

For Hometown News

DAYTONA BEACH -- Owner Chip Ganassi Racing's No. 01 BMW Riley with drivers Scott Pruett, Juan Pablo Montoya, Memo Rojas and Charlie Kimball won the 51st Rolex 24 At Daytona International Speedway.

The victory was Pruett's fifth Rolex 24, tying him with sports car great Hurley Haywood.

"It's just an incredible day all the way around," Pruett said in a news release. "Winning with these guys and winning with Chip and then at the end of it, I've gotten to know Hurley real well over the years by racing with him and as a friend. Having him there at the end is pretty special."

For Rojas and Montoya, it was their third overall Rolex 24 victory while it was the first for IZOD IndyCar Series driver Charlie Kimball.

Ganassi is now batting 50 percent in the Rolex 24 by capturing his fifth Rolex 24 triumph in 10 attempts.

The winning No. 01 car had an average speed of 105.22 mph during its 709 laps and 2,524 miles, nearly equivalent of a one-way trip from Daytona Beach to downtown Los Angeles, according to DIS officials.

In the GT class, Audi swept the top two spots with the No. 24 Audi Sport Customer Racing/Alex Job Racing team (Filipe Albuquergue, Oliver Jarvis, Edoardo Mortara, Dion von Moltke) winning by 1.476 seconds over the No. 52 Audi Sport Customer Racing/APR Motorsport Ltd.UK.

In the new GX class, the No. 16 Napleton Racing Porsche Cayman (Jim Norman, Shane Lewis, David Donohue and Nelson Canache) took top honors.

In the GRAND-AM Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge, now named the BMW Performance 200, Jack Roush Jr. and Billy Johnson drove the GS class No. 61 Roush Performance, Gary Yeomans Ford to the overall win.

In the ST class, Vesko Kozarov and Lara Tallman from Skullcandy Team Nissan won in the No. 33 Nissan Altima Coupe. Tallman is the first woman to win a Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge race since Sarah Cattaneo in 2011 at New Jersey Motorsports Park.

Next up for DIS are the Lucas Oil 200 at 4:30 p.m. and the Sprint Unlimited, both on Saturday, Feb. 16.

Comments powered by Disqus
Can't see the comments?
Read more Sports stories from the Volusia County community newspaper...

Make this site your Homepage e-mail us

Legal Notices

Join our Mailing List:

Crossword Puzzle:

Archives Calendar:

« Sep, 2014 »
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30

Search Stories: